My Pixie Haircut

So I did it! I cut my long hair into a pixie cut!

It has been a drastic change, but I must confess that I have been thinking about it for some time now and I’m so glad I did it.

Now that my hair is this short, I feel great. Contrary to what had been culturally instilled in me, I didn’t change who I am or how people see me. I’m freed.

I realized that I spent too much time and energy on my hair. With work, working out, cooking/food prepping, and my friends/family, I just didn’t have time to tame my hair every day, which I would anyway and it would stress me out. So much wasted time!

I feel even more self-confident and self-empowered with my short hair. I don’t need my hair to cover up or to hide me. I am my own person, with or without long hair.

Since my short hair has inspired me so much, I can only advise that no matter what you do, try to find that something that scares you a little and just do it! The feeling is like no other.

My long hair

My long hair. Yep, it’s in a ponytail, and it’s still very long.

Before the hair choppin'

A little nervous before the hair choppin’

Scissors are in

Scissors are in

Stylin' it

Stylin’ it

End result

End result

p.s. If you have over 10″ of beautiful hair and want to donate it like I did, please do so for Locks of Love.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Pixie Haircut

  1. Looks wonderful! What a change! I cut my hair from long to a bob a few years ago and never looked back! The most satisfying thing was when I realised that I could put on a coat or scarf without having to pull loads of hair out of it afterwards, haha! Bobs and pixie cuts are becoming more and more popular again, how exciting!! Susan x

    • Thanks Susan! I agree with pulling loads of hair out of EVERYTHING I own! 😛 I jokingly say that if you sit at my work desk and bend down to pick up a paperclip, you’re bound to pick up some of my hair strands! Short hair is def exciting, and totally worth trying at least 1x in your life!

Leave a Reply

